# Student Tech Fee Council Minutes

May 8<sup>th</sup>, 2020 Via Zoom at 1pm

Present: Bea Padilla, Lwin Htet, Christian Castilleja, Colin Krogh, Chris Schedler,

Gerard Hogan, Brian Kimberling, Mickael Candelaria, Edgar Carreno

**Guests:** Stacy Swayze

Absent: Michael Berge, Ginny Tomlinson

Minutes: Bea Padilla

#### Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 1:02pm by the Cahir, Lwin Htet.

## Funding Request: Help Desk- Secure W2: \$6,634

The ITS help desk is asking the council to renew the Secure W2 license, the council has paid for this since 2019. The council agrees this software is necessary to help students connect their devices to the network on campus.

MOTION: To fund the Secure W2 software for another year.

MADE BY: Chris Schedler. SECOND: Lwin Htet. VOTE: All in favor, motion carries.

## **VDI Costs**

The council is not comfortable with fully funding the monthly VDI costs because of how expensive it is. They want the 4 colleges to contribute based on their usage. Mike Marchand sent the council how much each college uses and how much it would cost. Lwin is going to create a draft email and send it to the council for review before sending out to the colleges. The email will ask colleges to participate in the monthly funding for VDI based on their usage.

## Wepa Contract

The 1-year contract with Wepa is ending and the council needs to decide whether or not they should extend for 6 months or set into a 3-year contract. Stacy talked abut the pros and cons of continuing Wepa and the council agreed that the pros outweighed the cons. If the Wepa printers were to leave, the cost of going back to the old way would be too time consuming and expensive. The council is interested in the 3-year contract but want to make sure the current printing costs would remain the same. Bea will reach out to Wepa and get more answers.

#### Other

The council was informed that the Student Tech Fee was reinstated for Spring Quarter, it is back to \$30 per full-time student.

Voting
Lwin Htet
Brian Kimberling
Collin Krogh
Edgar Carreno
Michael Berge
Mickael Candelaria
Christian Castilleja
Gerard Hogan
Chris Schedler

Non-Voting Ginny Tomlinson Bea Padilla