# Student Tech Fee Council Minutes

April 1, 2019 Samuelson 118E

**Present:** Calisa Cruse, Britton Hayes, Jocelyn Matheny, Szilard Vajda, Brian Kimberling, Jami Beintema, Bea Padilla, Andreas Bohman, Nik Harkins, Lwin Htet

Absent: Gerard Hogan

Guests: Matthew Boyer, Joseph Pearson, Jenna Hyatt

Minutes: Bea Padilla

#### Call to order

The meeting was called to order at: 2:30 pm by Calisa Cruse.

### Data Center/ Teriyaki building discussion

The council talked about the tour of both of the buildings, it was determined that the teriyaki building was too big to just have an AR/VR room and multimodal tech show case room. The council decided not to move forward with taking over the teriyaki building, but rather possibly helping with technology for the department that does want to take it, if need be.

The council enjoyed the data center and realized it was a lot bigger than they thought, and think that a room can be dedicated to AR/VR and possibly multimodal as well. Joseph Pearson said that he would definitely like to be a partner with this, and have some kind of dining available in the building.

MOTION: To bring an architect to assess the data center inside and out in the max amount of \$40,000- Operations will take the lead.

MADE BY: Brian Kimberling. SECOND: Nik Harkins. VOTE: All in favor, motion carries.

#### **Esports presentation**

Matt Boyer presented on what Esports is, he has attended conferences regarding this. He told tech fee that the Rec Center would like to be involved, but at this point cannot contribute funds. That being said, Rec Center could offer insight on how to manage esposits inside the building such as security.

#### Laptop/Battery quotes

Bea will reach out to Rod to get the quotes regarding more kiosks/ battery packs.

## **STFC Tabling**

Tech Fee will be tabling the next two weekends for orientation- Wildcat days. Bea will work on a flyer for this weekend and inquire about flash drives. Calisa and Lwin will be tabling.

Voting
Lwin Htet
Calisa Cruse
Britton Hayes
Szilard Vajda
Gerard Hogan
Jocelyn Matheny
Nik Harkins
Brian Kimberling

Non-Voting
Andreas Bohman
Bea Padilla
Jami Beintema